Review: ER 13.1 — “Bloodline”

Vague-ish Recap:  The aftermath of the shootout from last season’s finale.  Newly hip Carrie comes into Cook County to discover Ray, Duvenko and eventually Neela working frantically to save Jerry’s life.  Frank is freaked by the carnage.  Morris shows his human side by showing deep concern for Jerry’s fate.  Carrie then discovers the unconscious Abby and cuffed-up Luka.  Abby suffers an abrupted placenta and the baby has to be delivered early, but not without further cost to Abby than just a premature baby.  Sam and Alex are held hostage by her ex-husband and their accomplices, but Sam finds a way out at the end of the episode.

Comments:  For those of you that didn’t know because you didn’t watch the show last season, ER responded to the swift kick in the pants that the raging success of Grey’s Anatomy gave them by producing the best season of the series since Clooney’s last, kinda middling season.  ER took the best lesson it could from Grey’s, which was to inject humor and hope into the series.  Gone is the turgid, ponderous, relentless feeling of tragedy.  Now, the tragic moments are earned by being leavened with character-revealing humor and an overall brisker pace, helped not in the least by confining most of the storylines to the ER itself.  Morris is a great, lovable weasel, Pratt has come into his own as a heroic doctor, Ray’s being torn between careers becomes believable and even Neela’s career identity crisis came to a head.  Plus, when you go to Darfur for four episodes, grinding the rest of the show to a screeching halt and it doesn’t kill the momentum as Carter’s previous digression to Africa in season 11 did, you know that ER is definitely back.

With that preface, what is there left to say about this episode?  Scott Grimes presents a sweet example of comic relief in the way that he roots for Jerry to survive his wounds in the OR.  Abby and Luka have such a great, quiet, humorous rapport that the news of Abby’s emergency hysterectomy hurts all the more without being so overwhelmingly tragic, so overcooked and obvious, as the way Carter’s stillborn baby was handled two and a half years ago.  And I did NOT see the last moment of the episode coming.  Bravo for Sam!  It can all be chalked to self-defense, can’t it?

Episode Grade:  A+

******

Maintenance:  I’ve just discovered that I write pro-active reviews better and more often in the morning than I do in the late evening.  The problem is, I have insomnia.  See the Catch-22?  I’ll be experimenting with waking up in the morning no matter what so that I can get that one-review a day format up and running.  This also means that I’ll likely be responding to comments later in the day and at night.  Thanks for your continuing patience and support in helping me get this blog going just by reading it.

5 Responses to “Review: ER 13.1 — “Bloodline””

  1. Casey B. Says:

    OK, you are killing me–I spaced out recording the show as I was out of town all week, so am dying (no pun intended?) to know what happened in the last moment of the episode (please tell me she killed her asshole ex?). Will I ever find out?? And I assume Jerry died since now he’s on Men in Trees, and we know you can’t be two places at once. Thanks!

  2. shutuprob Says:

    >OK, you are killing me–I spaced out recording the show as I was out of
    >town all week, so am dying (no pun intended?) to know what happened >in the last moment of the episode (please tell me she killed her asshole
    >ex?). Will I ever find out??

    Next week, definitely. Overheard in the previews is a remark about self-
    defense, which could just be the deaths of the other two, with her taking
    him back to prison at gunpoint.

    >And I assume Jerry died since now he’s on Men in Trees, and we know
    >you can’t be two places at once. Thanks!

    Jerry’s not dead (yet). I think they set his fate up ambiguously due to the
    new series. It looks like it’s a goner, so I think while their original plan
    was to kill Jerry off, I bet he’s just going to be in an extended
    convalescence.

    Thanks for writing,
    Rob

  3. shutuprob Says:

    Since I don’t know how to do that one right with the spacing, here’s the readable version

    >OK, you are killing me–I spaced out recording the show as I
    >was out of town all week, so am dying (no pun intended?) to
    >know what happened in the last moment of the episode (please
    >tell me she killed her asshole ex?). Will I ever find out??

    Next week, definitely. Overheard in the previews is a remark
    about self-defense, which could just be the deaths of the other
    two, with her taking him back to prison at gunpoint.

    >And I assume Jerry died since now he’s on Men in Trees, and
    >we know you can’t be two places at once. Thanks!

    Jerry’s not dead (yet). I think they set his fate up ambiguously
    due to the new series. It looks like it’s a goner, so I think while
    their original plan was to kill Jerry off, I bet he’s just going to
    be in an extended convalescence.

    Thanks for writing,
    Rob

  4. juju Says:

    So did abbey and Luka’s baby survive before she had the hysterectomy? What did they have? Did Luka come around?

  5. shutuprob Says:

    Juju, the fate of Abby & Luka’s baby is a cliffhanger until the next episode as the baby wasn’t crying and looked blue (hypoxic — I’m not a doctor). I think the baby — a boy, Joseph, so that she can call him Joe (and an Americanized version of Luka’s father’s name, Yosef/Yusef), is supposed to survive, though, perhaps with some immediate health problems as an emergency preemie.

    Thanks for writing,
    Rob

Leave a Reply

